University of Denver Vice Chancellor Todd Rinehart Assumes NACAC Presidency

Shanda Ivory

University of Denver Vice Chancellor Todd Rinehart Assumes NACAC Presidency; Association Chooses President-Elect and New Board Members for 2020-21


Arlington, VA (Sept. 24, 2020) – Todd Rinehart, vice chancellor for enrollment at the University of Denver (CO), assumed the presidency of the National Association for College Admission Counseling (NACAC) today at the association’s first virtual national conference.

Ffiona Rees, senior associate director, evaluation and international admission at the University of California-Los Angeles, was voted president-elect, and three new members were elected to the NACAC board and announced at the virtual meeting.

Rinehart has worked in the college admission profession for nearly two decades and has been a NACAC member since 2001. He served on the association’s Admission Practices Committee from 2012 to 2015, acting as chair for the final two years of his appointment. More recently, Rinehart led NACAC’s Steering Committee on Admission Practices. That group operated from 2016 to 2017 to draft a new code of ethics for the association—a monumental undertaking that resulted in a 15-page document outlining clear ethical principles for those tasked with helping students navigate transitions to and within higher education.

Rees, currently a member of the NACAC Board of Directors, also has been a member of NACAC since 2001. She most recently served on NACAC’s Ad Hoc Committee on Leadership in Admission and previously was a member of its Steering Committee for Admission Practices and International Advisory Committee. She is an active member of International ACAC, one of NACAC’s 23 affiliates, where she previously served as president.

The three new board directors are:

  • Robyn Lady, Director of Student Services, Chantilly High School (VA)
  • Sanjay Mitchell, Director of College & Alumni Programs, Thurgood Marshall Academy Public Charter High School (DC)
  • Mark Steinlage, Jr., Associate Dean of Admission, Saint Louis University (MO)

Rees, Lady, Mitchell, and Steinlage will all serve three-year terms.

In addition:
Holly Markiecki-Bennets, school counselor at Mercy High School (MI), will join the board for one year as coordinator of the Affiliate Presidents Council, and Johnnie Johnson, vice president for admissions at Transylvania University (KY), was elected coordinator-elect. He will join the board in September 2021.

NACAC Code of Ethics:
The motion to replace the Code of Ethics and Professional Practices with the Guide to Ethical Practice in College Admission passed and will go into effect immediately. The Assembly voted to change the code of ethics to a best practices guide.

Editor’s Note:
NACAC was scheduled to host its 76th national conference in Minneapolis but moved the meeting online after the pandemic caused state and local governments to close public facilities and spaces. With the cancellation of the 2020 Assembly due to the pandemic, delegates to the Assembly voted by written consent during the period of Sept. 9 through Sept. 18, 2020, to elect a new president-elect and three board directors and on a motion to replace the Code of Ethics and Professional Practices with the Guide to Ethical Practice in College Admission.

The association is scheduled to host next year’s conference in Seattle, WA.


The National Association for College Admission Counseling (NACAC), founded in 1937, is an organization of nearly 14,000 professionals from around the world dedicated to serving students as they make choices about pursuing postsecondary education. 


Expand / Collapse All