NACAC Chooses President-Elect and New Board Members for 2019-20

Media Contact:
Mary Stegmeir

Todd Rinehart at podiumArlington, VA (Sept. 28, 2019) — Todd Rinehart, vice chancellor for enrollment at the University of Denver (CO), was voted president-elect and three new members were elected to the Board of Directors of the National Association for College Admission Counseling (NACAC) today at the association’s 75th National Conference in Louisville. 

Jayne Caflin Fonash, an independent college counselor and a current member of the board, assumed the presidency. She is in the second year of a three-year presidential cycle. 

Rinehart has worked in the college admission profession for nearly two decades and has been a NACAC member since 2001. He served on the association’s Admission Practices Committee from 2012 to 2015, acting as chair for the final two years of his appointment. More recently, Rinehart led NACAC’s Steering Committee on Admission Practices. That group operated from 2016 to 2017 to draft a new code of ethics for the association—a monumental undertaking that resulted in a 15-page document outlining clear ethical principles for those tasked with helping students navigate transitions to and within higher education.

Rinehart’s priorities entering his three-year presidential cycle include increasing the college-going rates of minority and low-income students, championing ethical practices within the profession, and creating a solid financial foundation for the association’s future.

“Overall, I want my time on the board to be dedicated to providing exceptional and valuable service to our members and the students we serve, as well as identifying and solving the key issues facing our association and profession,” Rinehart said. “As board members, our focus should be strategic development and implementation to address current and future issues and opportunities. We need intentional focus in listening to and serving our members and students, in addition to being great ambassadors and advocates for NACAC.”

The three newly-elected board members are: 

  • Cornell LeSane, senior vice president for enrollment and dean of admissions, Allegheny College (PA)
  • Angelica Melendez, college and financial aid specialist, South San Antonio High School (TX)
  • Delorean Menifee, director of admission, Butler University (IN)

LeSane, Melendez, and Menifee will all serve a three-year term.

In addition:

  • David Antoniewicz​, director of college counseling​ at the Perkiomen School (PA), will join the board for one year as a board director and coordinator of the NACAC Affiliate Presidents Council.

NACAC's new board members

NACAC is governed by an Assembly of delegates, elected by voting members in the association's state and regional affiliates, and by the Board of Directors, which sets the strategic direction for the organization.

The National Association for College Admission Counseling (NACAC), founded in 1937, is an organization of more than 15,000 professionals from around the world dedicated to serving students as they make choices about pursuing postsecondary education. NACAC is committed to maintaining high standards that foster ethical and social responsibility among those involved in the transition process, as outlined in the association's Code of Ethics and Professional Practices.

Expand / Collapse All