Reimagining the NACAC-Affiliate Partnership

The Ad Hoc Committee on Reimagining the NACAC-Affiliate Partnership will develop recommendations for redesigning the relationship between NACAC and its affiliates, clarifying their respective roles, and discovering new ways for the organizations to pursue mutually beneficial goals. The recommendations will identify ways to complement one another's efforts, grow their respective memberships, and share resources.

The committee’s recommendations will:

  • Explore the relationship between the organizations, as well as the benefits of members belonging to both

  • Suggest ways to enhance efforts to serve their respective members, students, families, and the profession

  • Define the separate and distinct governance roles for NACAC and for the affiliates

  • Suggest a new role for the Assembly that provides strategic advice and feedback to NACAC and provides a meaningful, high-quality leadership experience for delegates

  • Strengthen NACAC’s and the affiliates’ capabilities to offer programs of professional development, advocacy, knowledge, ethics, professional practice, networking, and service

  • Provide a framework for working together on various strategic initiatives

  • Define NACAC’s and the affiliates’ common goals

  • Determine the kinds of formal agreements needed between NACAC and the affiliates

  • Determine bylaw amendments that will be necessary to enact any approved recommendations

The group’s work will be informed by research and consultation on best practices by other national higher education associations. An outside firm will help lead and facilitate the work of the committee.


Committee members

Mark Steinlage, Jr. (chair)
NACAC Board Member
Saint Louis University (MO)


Carl Behrend
Behrend Consulting (NY)

Carlos Cano
Georgian Court University (NJ)

Eli Clarke
Commonwealth Academy (VA)

Lauren Cook
Jewish Community High School of the Bay (CA)

Ellen Deitrich
The Hill School (PA)

Thomas Delahunt
Southwestern University (TX)

Jane Gabin
Collegiate Consulting (NC)

Phyllis Gill
Student Centered College Counseling (NC)

Federico Glitman
Lynn University (FL)

Debi Hudson
St. Teresa's Academy (MO)

Matt Lane
The Branson School (CA)

Maureen Lawler
Bishop Kelley High School (OK)

Earl Macam
Mary Institute and Saint Louis Country Day School (MO)

Daniel Marschner
Loyola Marymount University (CA)

John McGreal
Bellin College (WI)

Teege Mettille
Carroll University (WI)

Marie Morris
Beyond 18 College Consulting (OR)

Suzi Nam
The Baldwin School (PA)

Marguerite Raymo
Jonathan Law High School (CT)

Emily Ross
University of Arizona

Laurie Sieminski
Edison High School (NJ)

Davinci Wallace
Milwaukee School of Engineering (WI)

Staff liaisons

Ashley Perzyna
Chief of Staff

Heather McGhee
Associate Director of Governance

Expand / Collapse All