John B. Muir Editor Award

The award is named for John Burke Muir, who was NACAC Vice-President for Publication and Research from 1983-1986. In that position he served as editor of the Journal of College Admission. English teacher, drama coach and college counselor, John Muir was an ardent advocate for his students, an inspiring theatrical director, and an exemplary professional colleague who brought humanity, humor, and excellence to all of his work.

Because the nature of content (and delivery) has changed,  the award guidelines were updated in 2020 to recognize new formats and appeal to a wider range of content creators. This award now recognizes the efforts and talents of members writing blogs, recording podcasts, creating videos, and using other innovative formats. Articles written for NACAC’s Journal of College Admission and other traditional outlets will also continue to be considered.

All content must be free or included with NACAC membership. A wide variety of works will be considered, including those falling into the following categories:

A news article, op-ed, or long-form blog entry or blog series related to college admission counseling

A documentary, or instructional or informational video (non-marketing) related to college admission counseling

Podcast Series
A series of podcasts related to college admission counseling

Published a book or another major work in the past year

Social Media Campaign
Collective posts for one campaign in the past year

PSA Series
A themed series that supports the need for postsecondary education (or other college admission counseling themes)

About the 2021 Winner:

Ken Anselment is the creator and producser of the Admission Leadership Podcast. The “ALP’s” special focus is its one-on-one conversations with Ken Anselment - Muir Award established and aspiring leaders in the college admissions profession. 

The featured guests, nearly all of whom are NACAC members, are what Ken calls “people who have been climbing the leadership mountain in the world of college admissions. Some are nearing the summit. Some are already there. But how did they get there? And what can other climbers learn from their mindsets, habits, and experiences?”

In addition to producing the program, Ken serves as host, and his intelligence, knowledge, sense of humor, and his obvious love for his job help to make the programs lively, accessible, and engaging for any audience.  The 39 episodes of the podcast that have been released so far offer an important service to, and inspiration for, the members of our profession. 

The ALP was recently added to NACAC’s Podcast Network, helping to share its information and insights to college counselors and college admission professionals, as well as students and families

Previous Award Winners:

  • 2020 - Jon Boeckenstedt
  • 2017 - Tommy Lucas and Whitney Linsenmeyer, "Cutting Through a Crisis: Guiding Prospective Students and Families During Times of Unrest" (Spring 2016)
  • 2016 - Dr. Tara Jabbaar-Gyambrah and Dr. Seneca Vaught, "Why College as an Investment is a Lousy Analogy" (Winter 2015)
  • 2015 - Jason Klugman, "Creating a Community of Scholars on the Edge of Disaster" (Winter 2014)
  • 2014 - Arthur Levine and Diane R. Dean, "It’s Only Technology If It Happens After You Are Born" (Summer 2013)
  • 2013 - Benjamin S. Baum, "LGBT Applicants and Challenges for Admission: Five Cases" (Fall 2012)
  • 2012 - Amy Liu, "The Admission Industrial Complex: Examining Entrepreneurial Impact on College Access" (Winter 2011)
  • 2011 - Ryan Gildersleeve, "Access Between and Beyond Borders" (Winter 2010) and Anne Pabst, "The Search for Sustainable Girls" (Fall 2010)
  • 2010 - Jonathon Epstein, "Behind the SAT-Optional Movement: Context and Controversy" (Summer 2009)
  • 2009 - Angel Pérez, "Struggling Between Two Worlds: How College Affects Identity Construction" (Winter 2008)
  • 2008 - Kirsten Olson, "Hyperventilating: The Concerted Cultivation of the Teenager" (Summer 2007)
  • 2007 - Joyce Vining Morgan, "Yves: Hope Against the Odds" (Summer 2006)
  • 2006 - Sam Patterson, "How Much is Too Much? Effective and Ethical Response to Application Essays" (Fall 2005)
  • 2005 - Kelly Herrington, "The Pleasure, Privledge and Agony of Application Reading" (Summer 2004)
  • 2004 - Carla Shere and Mark Hicks, "Toward Reflective Admission Work: New Direction for Thoughts and Practice" (Spring 2003)
  • 2003 - Sarah Myers McGinty, "Issues of Access: The College Application Essay" (Fall 2002)
  • 2002 - John L. Mahoney, "Perception of the Profession is Cause for Concern" (Winter 2001)
  • 2001 - Frank D. Sachs, "The Evolvement of Parent Education in the College Counseling Process" (Fall 2000)
  • 2000 - Kim Stafford, "College Recruitment Night" (Spring/Summer 1999)
  • 1999 - Van Sturgeon, "The Day I Turned Stupid" (Summer 1998)
  • 1998 - Michael Smith, "Multicultural Admission: From Paper Policy to Institutional Committment" (Summer 1997)
  • 1997 - James Alexander, Anne L. Bryant, Gwendolyn Jordan Dungy, Jean H. Fetter, Bill Fitzsimmons, Lawrence E. Gladieux, Mary Lee Hoganson, Don Johnson, Marybeth Kravets, Judy Rolfe, Ted Spencer, Peter Van Tyle, and Albert C. Yates, Special Issue: Diversity (Summer/Fall 1996)
  • 1996 - Ron W. Moss, "A Generation of Variance: Are We Prepared?" (Fall 1995)
  • 1995 - Peter Van Tyle, "How to Keep College Admission Officers at Their Desks and Out of the Courtroom" (Winter 1995)
  • 1994 - Frank C. Leana, "Blueberry Pancakes, Please" (Summer 1994)
  • 1993 - Maryam Ahamad, Edward Bell, Charlene Blue Horse, Deborah B. Bowles, Frank Burtnett, Deborah J. Carter, Richard Ferguson, John Hollifield, Naomi Kuziemski, Whitney Laughlin, Laudelina Martinez, Suzannne D. Mintz, Arnold Mitchem, Michael Rowland, William E. Sedlacek, Charles Shom, Donald M. Stewart, and Kristin Tichenor; Achieving Diversity: Strategies for the Recruitment and Retention of Traditionally Underrepresented Students
  • 1992 - Bethany L. Spotts, "Creating a Successful Minority Affairs Position" (Spring 1991)
  • 1991 - B. Ann Wright, "Smile When You Say Performance Appraisal" (Winter 1990)
  • 1989 - Steven Munger, A Guide to the College Admissions Process
  • 1988 - Jean Ballard Terepka
  • 1987 - E. Douglas Norton, "Intervention in Burnout and Substance Abuse in the Admissions Professions" (Spring 1987)
  • 1986 - Daniel C. Tyson, "The Montezuma Eight: A Moral Challenge to the Admissions Profession" (Winter 1986)
  • 1985 - David Chapman and Susan L. Benati, "The Structure of Salaries in College Admissions" (Spring 1985)
  • 1984 - Suzanne McColloch and Betsy Porter, "No-Need Scholarships: Practices, Trends, and Attitudes" (Fall 1983)


Expand / Collapse All