Commission on International Student Recruitment

​The National Association for College Admission Counseling (NACAC) has convened a Commission on International Student Recruitment to address the long-running controversy over the use of commissioned agents to recruit international students.  The commission is comprised of individuals representing a diverse range of institutions, perspectives, and interests to acknowledge the complexity and breadth of the issue. Key issues for the commission’s consideration will likely include:
  1. An exploration of institutional policies and practices for the recruitment of international students in light of well-established principles for admission practice.
  2. Obstacles institutions face in the recruitment of international students, and ways in which such obstacles can be addressed;
  3. Federal policy challenges facing US institutions wishing to engage in international recruitment.
The commission convened its first meeting in March 2011 in Washington, DC. The second meeting took place at the NACAC National Conference in Denver, CO in October 2012.
To contact the Commission on International Student Recruitment, please email

Commission Meetings

Members of the NACAC Commission on International Student Recruitment

Philip Ballinger, Chair
University of Washington
Robert Watkins
University of Texas - Austin
Michael Barron
University of Iowa 
Tim Brunold
University of Southern California
Kelly Walter
Boston University, MA
Doug Christiansen
Vanderbilt University, TN
Mae Brown
University of California - San Diego
Gerri Daniels
Northern Michigan University 
Ross Jennings
Green River Community College, WA
Randy Doss
Guilford College, NC
Tom Hassett
Gannon University, PA
John Evans
International School of Beijing, China
Chizu Shiono
Independent Consultant, MA
Anne K.W. Richardson
Kents Hill School, ME
Jim Miller
University of Wisconsin - Superior
Tom Weede
Butler University, IN
Paul Miller
National Association of Independent Schools (NAIS), DC
Mark Sklarow
Independent Educational Consultants Association (IECA), VA
Maureen Budetti
National Association of Independent Colleges and Universities (NAICU), DC
Arlene Jackson
American Association of State Colleges and Universities (AASCU), DC
Norm Peterson
Montana State University
Jeffrey Johnson
National Association of Graduate Admission Professionals (NAGAP), KS
Martha Pitts
College Board, NY
Fanta Aw
American University, DC
Peggy Blumenthal
Institute of International Education (IIE), NY
Mike Donahue
National Collegiate Athletic Association (NCAA), IN
Wayne Wheeler
American Association of Community Colleges (AACC), DC
Jon Tarrant
Higher Education Consultants Association (HECA), PA